This is the old United Nations University website. Visit the new site at



In accordance with Article IV of the Charter of the United Nations University, the Secretary-General of the United Nations and the Director-General of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) have appointed 14 new members to the 24-member Council of the University for a term of six years from May 1998 to May 2004, to replace 13 retiring members and to fill one vacancy due to the resignation of a Council member.

Members of the Council, which is the governing body of the University, are appointed jointly by the Secretary-General and the Director-General of UNESCO, in consultation with the agencies and the programmes concerned, including the United Nations Institute for Training and Research (UNITAR). The members serve in their individual capacity. The Council is established respecting the aim of achieving geographic and gender balance with due regard to major academic, scientific, educational and cultural trends in the world, taking into account the various fields of study.

The 14 new members appointed to the Council are:

  • Professor Françoise Thys-Clement (Belgium), Economist and former Rector of the Universitè Libre de Bruxelles
  • Professor Lin Quan (China), Physicist and Secretary-General of the State Science and Technology Commission (SSTC)
  • Dr. Yoginder K. Alagh (India), Economist and former Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Science and Technology and Power, former Vice Chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Ambassador Chusei Yamada (Japan), Professor of International Law at Waseda University
  • Professor Faizah M. Al-Kharafi ( Kuwait), President, Kuwait University
  • Professor Ana Maria Cetto (Mexico), Physicist and Vice-President of the International Council of Scientific Union (ICSU) Committee on Science and Technology in Developing Countries
  • Dr. Carlos Tunnermann Bernheim (Nicaragua), Doctor in Law and Special Adviser to the Director-General of UNESCO for Latin America and the Caribbean
  • Professor Ahmadou Lamine N’Diaye (Senegal), Doctor in Veterinarian Medicine and Rector at the Université Gaston-Berger
  • Professor Aleksandra Kornhauser (Slovenia), Director of the International Centre for Chemical Studies, University of Ljubljana
  • Dr. Josep M. Bricall (Spain), Doctor in Law and Economics, former Rector of the Universidad de Barcelona, President of CRE
  • Dr. Jairam Reddy (South Africa), Dentist and Professor, Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Western Cape and Chair of the Committee on the Renewal of Higher Education in South Africa
  • Professor Wichit Srisa-an (Thailand), Rector of Suranaree University of Technology
  • Professor Elizabeth J. Croll (United Kingdom), Historian, Head of the Department of Development Studies, School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London
  • Dr. Donald Gerth (United States), Doctor in Political Science and President of California State University, Sacramento

Members of the Council who will remain in office until 2 May 2001 are: Professor José Joaquín BRUNNER RIED (Chile), Professor Paolo COSTA (Italy), Dr. Donald EKONG (Nigeria), Dr. Salim EL-HOSS (Lebanon), Professor Genady Nikolaevich GOLUBEV (Russian Federation), Professor Françoise HÉRITIER-AUGÉ (France), Professor Risto IHAMUOTILA (Finland), Dr. Graça MACHEL (Mozambique), Dr. Valeria MERINO-DIRANI (Ecuador), and Professor Ingrid MOSES (Australia).

* * *

For further information, please contact:
UNU Public Affairs Section
Tel.: (03) 5467-1243 or -1246
Fax: (03)3406-7346.


Return to UNU Homepage