This is the old United Nations University website. Visit the new site at


Friday, 24-25 May 2000
The United Nations University Headquarters


Wednesday, 24 May 2000
09:00-09:30 Registration
09:30-10:00 Opening Session: Welcome and Introduction

Hans van Ginkel, Rector, United Nations University (UNU) Shimizu Kayoko, Minister of State, Director-General of the Environment Agency (Japan)
Joke Waller-Hunter, Director, Environment Directorate, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

10:00-11:00 Session I: Global Outlooks and Trends

Chair: Kenneth Ruffing, Department of Sustainable Development, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations
Speakers: Jonathan Lash, World Resources Institute (WRI): "Millennium Ecosystem Assessment"; Robert Kates, National Academy of Sciences: "Our Common Journey: A Transition to Sustainability"
Panellists: Marion Cheatle, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Tom Jones, OECD Robert U. Ayres, European Business School

11:00-11:20 [Coffee Break]
12:50-14:10 [Lunch]
11:20-12:50 Session I (continued)
14:10-15:40 Session II: Global Warming and Key Issues towards COP 6

Chair: Wakako Hironaka, Former Director General of the Environment Agency, Japan
Speaker: Raul Estrada-Oyuela, Chairman of the Committee of the Whole of COP 3, Argentina: "Equity and Climate Change Mitigation Efforts"
Panellists: Ding Yihui, China Meteorological Administration; Hironori Hamanaka, Environment Agency, Japan; Mohan Munasinghe, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka; Warwick Mckibbin, Australian National University

15:40-16:00 [Coffee Break]
16:00-17:50 Session III: Global Modelling and Future Scenario

Chair: Tsuneyuki Morita, National Institute for Environmental Studies, Japan
Speakers: Hugh Pitcher, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA; Kenji Yamaji, University of Tokyo, Japan: "Modelling Global Energy System to Address Climate Change"
Panellists: Alexander Roehrl, IIASA; Shunsuke Mori, Science University of Tokyo, Japan

18:00-19:30 Reception (venue: 2nd floor reception hall)
Thursday, 25 May 2000
9:30-10:20 Session: IV Kyoto Protocol and Alternatives

Chair: Masahiro Kuroda, Keio University, Japan
Speaker: Warwick Mckibbin, Australian National University: "Beyond the Kyoto Protocol"
Panellist: Hirofumi Uzawa, UNU/IAS Chair of Advanced Studies

10:20-10:40 [Coffee Break]
14:20-14:40 Ambassador Yoshio Hatano, President, Foreign Press Center (Japan) "Africa in the New International Order"
14:40-15:00 Dr. K.Y. Amoako, Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Commission for Africa: "Africa's Expectations from the G8 Summit to be held in Japan"
15:00-15:25 [Coffee Break]
10:40-12:20 Session V: Water in the 21st Century

Chair: Motoyuki Suzuki, Vice-Rector, UNU
Speaker: William J. Cosgrove, World Water Council
Panellists: Carlos Mineiro Aires, Instituto de Agua, Portugal; Hideaki Oda, Water in Rivers Secretariat, Japan; Ruson Wang, Research Centre for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

12:20-13:30 [Lunch]
13:30-14:30 Session VI: Sustainable Development & Developing Countries

- India's Sustainable Development Framework - Chair: Tarcisio Della Senta, Director, UNU/IAS
Speaker: Kirit Parikh, Indira Ghandi Institute of Development Research, India
Panellists: Jyoti Parikh, Kanchan Chopra, Sujata Gupta, S. P. Kashyap, V. Pandit, V. Ratna Reddy, K. L. Thapar, Robin Mukherjee

14:30-15:30 Session VII: Sustainable Development & Developing Countries

- Indonesia's Sustainable Development Framework - Chair: Fu-chen Lo, UNU/IAS
Speaker: Iwan Azis, Cornell University, USA
Panellists: Armida S. Alisjahbana, Lali Dillon, Tommy Firman, Budy P. Resosudarmo, David Roland Holst

15:30-15:50 [Coffee Break]
15:50-17:30 Session VIII: Global Sustainable Future and Developing Countries

Chairs: Fu-chen Lo, UNU/IAS; Mohan Munasinghe, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka
Panellists: Yoginder Kumar Alagh, Former Minister of State for Science and Technology and Power, India, Member of the UNU Council; Emil Salim, Former Minister for Environment and Population, Indonesia; Jose Vargas, Former Minister for Science and Technology, Brazil; Zhang Kunmin, China Council for International Co-operation on Environment and Development, China

17:30- Closing
*     *     *